Posted by: Kim | April 21, 2008

What would you give up yarn for?

Yes…I really did ask you that question.  Come on–be honest with yourself.  There must be something you’re dying to possess and you’d actually give up your yarn stash savings in order to get it.  There was for me.

Starting six months ago, I vowed not to make any major yarn purchases so I could save up money for my special thing.  There is a ceramic jar in our office that everyone contributes their spare change to in order to keep me stashed with yarn.  (I think DH and Kato have figured out that this makes me a happier person and more easy to live with, so they gladly “pay the toll.”)  I can usually net about $60 on a full jar, which works well with saving up for yarn, but it was slow going for this project.  So, all birthday and Christmas money went into that jar.  Any rebate checks in the mail?  Into the jar.  Basically, any money that “fell from the sky” qualified to be contributed to that jar.  By last week, I was just shy of $590.  I shudder to think of the yarn orgy I could have had with that cash.  Technically I was still short of the goal, but I could see the end in sight, since DH gave me permission to use some of President Bush’s economic stimulus package to make up the difference.  Based on the IRS website, I only had about another 2-3 weeks to go.

Then the Best Buy Rewards program coupons showed up in the mail last week.  A whopping 12% off only good over the weekend.  I know 12% doesn’t sound like much, but when you’re looking at $750 it looks pretty nice.  So, I “borrowed” my Prez money from savings so I could be a smart shopper.

What did I finally buy last Friday?

Nikon D60

Yup, the Nikon D60 with the 18-55mm lens and an 8GB SDHC card.  I’ve been using our Canon SD450 to take all of my knitting photos, and I was finding some real limitations with the point-and-shoot.  Also, I’ve had SLR experience in the past and the digital cameras have come down enough in price that I could justify it.

So, not much knitting this last weekend, but lots of pictures!  I think DH was really getting tired of me shooting photos of him while we’d talk, while BBQing, etc.  Shoot, evaluate and delete!  I LOVE THIS CAMERA!  Now there are no excuses for me to be posting crappy photos.

And the yarn jar?  It’s now being used for saving up for a telephoto zoom lens.  Good thing I have enough in my stash to keep me busy for awhile…

Responses

  1. how fancy!
    i got my digital at the drug store for $30…. hehehe.

    i’ve been dreaming of a canon eos 1-d since i’ve seen Martha’s AMAZING pictures.

  2. You, my dear, are fickle techno-junkie.
    You need to forget all the techie stuff and focus on the tranquility (gauge? we don’t care about no stinking gauge!) and peace (why is my stitch count off?) of knitting. It will center you in a peaceful place (which is helpful as your ripping out 60 rows because you dropped a stitch 2 weeks ago)

    Forget the camera – you need to focus on a hobby that continues to provide tranquility….

  3. Now THAT is a great thing!!! Enjoy your new camera!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

