Posted by: Kim | April 16, 2008

A Tale of Two Gauges

Lady Eleanor swatchAs some of you may remember, I was really jonesing to knit the Lady Eleanor Stole from Scarf Style last September.  I even bought one ball of Noro Silk Garden to test swatch it, but in the end I decided it would be more prudent to save the roughly $140 and put it towards fixing Dieter, who was leaking coolant all over our garage floor.

Well, Little Knits had a really killer sale on Silk Garden in November, so I was able to get the yarn and stash it for future use on this stole.  I was finally ready to start this project last month, after finishing the Lizard Ridge Afghan.  I spent a lot of time on Ravelry looking at other Lady E’s, as I remember that even though my test swatch last fall was on gauge with US 10.5 needles (as called out in the pattern), I didn’t like how “open” the piece looked.  It seemed a lot of other knitters felt that way, as quite a few of them used US 8 or 9 instead.  I cast on with US 9 and after 12″ of knitting, I decided that I was happy with the gauge.  It was narrower (obviously), but blocking would get an inch or so back.  And that’s how I went.

Lady Eleanor with US 9 needlesSo, last night I finished tier 35, the last tier before casting off per the pattern.  I laid the piece on the floor and measured:  54″.  OK, still too short for what I wanted.  It was long enough to finally wrap in front and when I put it over my shoulders and looked in the mirror, I knew.  Much to my disappointment, I knew.  I didn’t like the drape; the gauge was too dense and it didn’t hang on me as I had pictured.  Yup, I should have stuck with the original gauge.  It really kills me to think about frogging this much work, but I firmly believe that first and foremost, I need to be happy with this in the end.

Sigh…I’m going to pour myself a cup of coffee and get my ball winder out.  I’ve got some work to do.

Responses

  1. I would hate to frog that too. It looks beautiful!


Leave a Reply

Categories

