Posted by: Kim | April 1, 2008

Winter FO Tour – Day 5

Today’s post is a special one, as it is Caleb’s birthday today. He’s the little boy that I knit this sweater for, and his mother, father and big brother are at the hospital today, anxiously awaiting his arrival. Happy birthday, Caleb!

STRIPED CARDIGAN

Striped Cardi

Pattern: Striped Cardi

Source: Lion Brand yarns

Yarn: Lion Brand Cotton-Ease (50% cotton, 50% acrylic) in Violet, Lime and Snow (1 skein each)

Needles used: Clover Takumi bamboo straights, US 6

Project start date: February 2008

Project end date: March 2008

Notes: I made the 12-month size for Caleb, as I figured this would be best suited for next fall’s weather here in San Diego. Overall, it was an easy knit. I chose to carry the colors up the side for each piece, which meant less weaving in of ends. Based on some of the discussion/photos over on Ravelry, not everyone has done that. I still hate seaming, but I split it up over a couple of days to make it less painful.

Striped Cardi buttonMy favorite thing about this cardigan are the buttons; I found them at Jo-Ann Fabrics. I really thought I’d end up going with white buttons, but once I saw these blue ones in the light, that was it! At first I was concerned that they might have been too blue with the violet yarn, but actually they worked really well.

Responses

  1. ADORABLE! I love the colors!!!

  2. Wow, that’s perfect. I didn’t think that lion brand cotton ease’s new colors were nice, but you put them well together!

  3. Girl, you have been a crazy knitter!

    All your projects look great!


Leave a Reply

Categories

