Posted by: Kim | March 31, 2008

Winter FO Tour – Day 4

(OK, I’m not getting these done on a daily basis, but I just can’t let go of the titles…)

RIVER ROCK SCARF

River Rock Scarf on shirtRiver Rock Scarf flat

Pattern: River Rock Scarf, by Sivia Harding

Source: No Sheep For You, by Amy R. Singer

Yarn: Handmaiden Silken (100% silk), in Stone (2 skeins)

Needles used: Crystal Palace bamboo straights, size US 7

Project start date: December 2007

Project end date: January 2008

Notes: This scarf is one of my favorite FOs from this winter. First off, I think it goes without saying that knitting with this yarn was a dream. If I won the lottery, I’d be buried in Sea Silk and Silken stash for years to come. It’s that good.

River Rock Scarf detailMy jury is still out when it comes to knitting with beads. I absolutely love the scarf, but the idea of stringing 1,534 beads again makes my body break out in small hives. Yes, you string that many — 767 beads on each skein prior to knitting. Then you get to slide all of those beads as you knit. Sigh. The pattern calls out for you to knit tbl on each side of the beads on the RS, but not purl tbl on the wrong side. I found the beads sliding out of their places when I did that, so I twisted the stitches on each side and then the beads stayed in place better.

If you’ve got the patience to string the beads, I really recommend this project.

Responses

  1. I have never seen this pattern but I LOVE IT!!!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

