Posted by: Kim | March 26, 2008

Winter FO Tour – Day 1

These project were Christmas gifts for the family. The first two were done without a pattern; I spent more time focusing on the yarn and fit issues for each. The third? Well, suffice it to say that I am no longer the only person on the planet to have not knit Fetching…

CHOCOLATE AND ICE BLUE MINT LOUNGING SOCKS

Malabrigo lounging socks

Pattern: My own

Size: Loosely fits a woman’s US 9 wide foot

Yarn: Malabrigo Worsted (100% handspun merino), in Charrua; used about 1.1 skeins

Needles used: Addi Turbo circulars, size US 7

Project start date: December 2007

Project end date: December 2007

Notes: There were two memorable parts about this project. One, it was my first experience with Malabrigo. Mmmm, Malabrigo! Now I get what everyone was saying. I loved knitting with this yarn! Even with the pilling fear, I’ve already added a sweater project to my queue just to use this yarn again.

Second, my stepmom wanted these to fit loosely around her feet, as she would primarily be using these in the evening to keep her feet warm while lying on the couch. Ok, easy enough (ha!). On the first try, they looked like they were made for Andre the Giant. Rrrriiiippppp! Second try — maybe more for Yao Ming now. Rrrriiipppp! Third try was a charm (although to me they still look rather large in the photo). I went with a K2 P2 ribbing so the stock wouldn’t slouch and it allowed me to keep the leg “tight” without feeling so.

DAD’S BOOT SOCKS

Dad’s Boot Socks

Pattern: My own

Size: Approximately men’s US 11

Yarn: Nashua Handknits Creative Focus Superwash (100% superwash wool) in Natural, and Brown Sheep Lamb’s Pride Superwash Worsted (100% superwash wool) in Red Wing

Needles used: Addi Turbo circulars, size US 5

Project start date: December 2007

Project end date: December 2007

Notes: These were a much fast knit, as I was actually making these to fit in a standard way. I went with a K2 P2 ribbing for the leg and instep, a French heel and a standard toe to finish. The contrasting heel and toe were fun and it was a good way to eat into some of my stash.

I will say that I wasn’t impressed with the Nashua yarn. In the first ball alone, I found a knotted ply and three large slubs that I had to cut out. Plus, it felt as if there were acrylic in the yarn. I know superwash isn’t the softest stuff in the world, but I’ve felt better. I’ll probably steer clear of this yarn in the future.

FETCHING MITTENS

Grey Fetching mittens

Pattern: Fetching, by Cheryl Niamath

Source: Knitty, Summer 2006

Yarn: Cascade 220 Tweed (90% Peruvian Highland Wool, 10% Donegal Wool), in 7616 Grey

Needles used: Addi Turbo circular, US 6

Project start date: December 2007

Project end date: December 2007

Notes: These were my first pair of mittens ever, so I did make a concerted effort to use DPNs when I started these (I abhor using them for socks). Turns out I’m not a big fan of them for mittens, either. So, I tackled another first by knitting these using the Magic Loop method of one 40″ circular needle. Much better! That meant I only had to use the DPNs to finish off the thumbs.

The yarn came from my stash, so it’s a good stash-buster project. I’ve already traded for a couple of other balls of yarn from Ravelry users so I can make more pairs of these mittens.

Responses

  1. Your projects look great!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

