Posted by: Kim | November 8, 2007

Motoring on the Muir Shawl

Yup, another week just cruised right on by me with no blog posts. What happened? One time change over the weekend and wham! Next thing you know it’s getting dark at 5:30pm and winter arrives. The clouds move in for an all day visit and all I feel like doing is curling up under a blanket on the couch with a hot drink of choice, my iPod and my knitting. And I do it all day! Next thing I know, DH is going to be home from work in an hour and I haven’t planned dinner. Yikes!

Muir Shawl after 8 repeatsAnyway, the project of choice during my “lost” days has been the Muir Shawl. I’ve now completed 8 of the 13 repeats for the body (yah, over half way!). I am truly in love with this pattern and I cannot wait to block this piece out to really appreciate the detail. My only battle is knowing when I’m not in the right mental place to work with this yarn and lace in general. The other day I had a brain block morning and I kept finding myself making a mistake on the front side, then catching it two rows later. Tink, tink, tink. Do it again. (And that really sucks with laceweight mohair.) Good, that row is correct. Make another mistake, catch it two rows later. Tink, tink, tink. Let’s just say that I got through four rows in three hours. When it’s like this, I really just need to put it down and walk away.

So, I started yet another project as an alternative for moments like this. It involves Handmaiden Silk Rumple, but I can’t post here about it as it’s a gift for someone. If you’re on Ravelry, you can check it out in my project section—it’s the WIP that is not the Lizard Ridge or the Muir. I’m finding that it’s a nice, easy alternative for “muddled head” days.

Responses

  1. Time is SWIFTLY moving!!! You are half way there!! Looking good!

  2. Muir shawl doming along GREAT! I cant wait to see finsh up shawl!

    ALSO CAN I ASK YOUR FLOAVOR!
    Visit my knitting blog.. see what you think and comment me!

    Thanks~~
    Charles


Leave a Reply

Categories

