Posted by: Kim | October 17, 2007

Beady Bed Socks project summary

Beady Bed Socks

Pattern: Beady Bed Socks, by Martin Storey

Source: Classic Home, Book 5, from Rowan Yarn

Size: Pattern has one size for average size adult foot (see notes below)

Yarn: RYC Cashsoft 4 Ply (50% extra fine merino, 40% microfiber, 10% cashmere) in Monet (423), two balls

Needles used: Addi Turbo circular, sizes 2 and 3 (24” length)

Project start date: October 10th

Project end date: October 17th

Notes: There were positives and a negative with this project.

I finally used the tubular cast on method, and I’m loving how the cuffs turned out. It was worth learning this technique. Yes, learning. It was the first time I’ve done it the entire time I’ve been a knitter. I have a resolution that I have to try something new on each project. It was also the first time knitting with beads.

Be aware that the “average size foot” for the pattern is probably about a 7 or 8 for a woman. I was able to get away with lengthening the ribbed toe section by four rows to get them to fit my 9.5 size boats. Also, the calf section was meant to be oversized and slouchy—they’re bed socks, you know! To achieve the look, there are two decreases on each side in that section before you get to the heel.

The one negative about this pattern that I would convert it to knitting in the round. The construction of the heel in this “flat” configuration required you to break the yarn and knit each half of the heel before proceeding with the foot. Ugh. Also, I dislike seaming enough that I really dreaded finishing these up today and considered having to bribe myself to complete the task at hand.

Overall, I’m looking foward to warm feet in bed this winter!

Responses

  1. Those socks are cute! I have yet to make my first pair!

  2. *Warning: Shameless plug incoming*

    Hmm…
    Is it drafty in here?
    My feet feel a little….*chilly*


Leave a Reply

Categories

