Posted by: Kim | September 21, 2007

Go With the Flow socks project summary

HAZARDOUS VISION ADVISORY: Go put your sunglasses on before you read this. If you choose not to, then don’t tell me that I didn’t warn you…

Go With the Flow socks

Pattern: Go With the Flow socks, by Evelyn A. Clark

Source: Favorite Socks: 25 Timeless Designs from Interweave; Ann Budd and Anne Merrow, editors

Yarn: Cherry Tree Hill Supersock Solid in Tangerine, one hank

Needles used: Size 1 (24″) Addi Turbo circular needles

Project length: About 3-4 weeks, in between other projects

Project cost: Yet again, not telling (Happy Birthday, Muff!)

Notes: Yes, yes, yes—those are ORANGE SOCKS!! Imagine knitting them each day! Keep in mind that I’m a devoted Oregon State alum and I’ve learned in my life to love my orange, but I truly wouldn’t have pictured these for myself. Muff, who was there at OSU with me, is my best friend. Her birthday was coming up and she works at a nasty place with a dress code that won’t allow her to wear her orange Chuck Taylor’s on Friday before game day. So the best way I could come up with getting around that was to knit her tasteful dress socks in the brightest orange possible!

Go With the Flow detailAside from the residual blindness suffered by looking at this color every day, I really am happy with how these socks turned out. The pattern is a gorgeous stretchy lace number that is very eye-catching. In fact, the stretch is significant enough that you really need to try these on as you knit through from the heel to the toe to be sure you don’t make them too long.

Thumbs up from me! I’d do this one again—just in a different color (she says with a grin).

Responses

  1. Your socks came out great!!!

  2. that orange is quite intense, but i sort of love it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

