Posted by: Kim | September 18, 2007

Lots o’ distractions right now…

Ok, first off–Ravelry is everything I expected it to be and more! And when some of the other enhancements are incorporated, it’s really going to kick some butt! I spent most of the weekend entering my projects, stash, books, needles, and queued items, joining a few groups and even volunteering to edit a book. I am really looking forward to when it’s no longer in beta version, so everyone can join. I did read on the Ravelry blog this morning that the invites have sped up to 500-600/day, so if you’re still waiting, hang in there! I know mine took about 2-1/2 months.

I finished the sleeves and collar on the Lady of the Lake cardigan, so I’ll be seaming the sleeves and doing final blocking today. Sorry, no pics until it’s finished, but I promise to have that up by the end of the week.

And I finally drank the Apple Kool-Aid and bought an iPod yesterday. My old 20GB Creative Labs finally had its clock tick out (the headphone jack only works for one ear now–thanks, US Airways!), so I moved up to the newest iPod Classic 80GB model in black:

iPod Classic 80GB

(Can’t you just hear the angels singing right now?)

After I finished my sleeves last night, I stayed up WAY TOO LONG playing with it. The 2.5″ LCD is beautiful and both music and video play well. I had to take a firmware update, but I’m still finding what I would call minor bugs that need to be resolved with the controls. With new product release, that’s to be expected at this point. But, I love it! I’ve already started subscribing to podcasts for both knitting and wine, but I would love to get everyone’s suggestions on their favorites as well. Anyone?

Ok, off to actually accomplish some seaming!

Responses

  1. You ARE SUCH A BAD GURL!!!!!! Where do you get your Apple Kool-Aid, Noro Kool-Aid, Handmaiden Kool-Aid and all sorts of kool-aid. You’re like Alice in Wonderland……. drinking all sorts of shit and buying all sorts of stuff……. but they are all yummy stuff though! and Ravelry…. I still don’t like you for that! I am special, I should be in Ravelry too!!!

  2. Podcasts,….. well don’t get me started. I’ve subscribed to so many I hardly have time to listen to them all & am getting so far behind. I love listening to David Reidy of Sticks and String (an Aussie guy who knits). I just checked out his profile on ravelry & he looks nothing like he sounds! Another great Aussie one is The Changeling (or changeling knits). Have fun & enjoy, also Crista Giles

  3. Just noticed a forum on Ravelry discussing podcasts so you may want to check that out.

  4. You are gonna love your Ipod! I go NOWHERE without mine! LOL

  5. Sorry, not sure if you wanna play, but you’ve been tagged. Go to http://boiknit.blogspot.com/2007/09/another-tag.html and get the details.


Leave a Reply

Categories

