Posted by: Kim | September 8, 2007

Storm Water Scarf project summary

Finally! I can start posting about some of these secret gifts I’ve been knitting over the last six months!

Storm Water Scarf

Pattern: Storm Water Scarf, by Ciobar Fibre Designs

Source: Kit from HandMaiden

Finished Size:  Approximately 9.5″ wide x 65″ long

Yarn: HandMaiden Sea Silk (70% silk, 30% Seacell) in Origin colorway, one hank

Needles used: Addi Turbo Lace circular, size 5 / 24” length

Project start date: August 17th
Project end date: August 22nd

Project cost $33.95/kit from Colorsong Yarn

Notes: This scarf was made as a birthday gift for my stepmom, so I was under a bit of a deadline. As usual, I decided on this project with only two weeks of knitting time ahead of me, since I had to be sure that it would arrive in time.

It turns out that time wasn’t a problem. This was a really fast knit once I did one vital thing—I switched from my standard Addi Turbo circular to the Lace version. And man, what a difference! I wasn’t dropping stitches as frequently, and the Sea Silk wasn’t nearly as slippery on the brass finish. I’m truly a believer in these needles now.

Storm Water Scarf detailThe yarn, as usual, was a treat to handle and knit. I ended up buying blocking wires in order to ensure straight edges during blocking. It was a good decision in hindsight, as the blocking was a breeze. And I can’t say enough about the colorway. I LOVED the transitions between the gold, purples, and reds. It reminded me of the most awesome sunset one could imagine.

Last thing—a shameless plug for Colorsong Yarn. I ordered the kit on the Internet on a Tuesday morning, they had it in the mail by Tuesday afternoon (with a personal e-mail notification), and the yarn was in my hands by USPS on Thursday. I will definitely order from them again!

Responses

  1. This is BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!!!!

  2. This looks awfully familiar. Do you have scarf style? The book? Look through it, there seems to be a pattern just like that.

  3. It’s gorgeous though. and I got your funny e-mail. I can’t believe you found it on sale!!!! Well, if that’s the case, you should NEVER turn down a good deal. NEVER!!!

  4. Kenny gets the prize today–he’s right. The pattern “Midwest Moonlight” in Scarf Style is the same at Storm Water!

  5. i noticed that. lol. it’s still beautiful and that yarn looks really fancy.


Leave a Reply

Categories

