Posted by: Kim | August 15, 2007

Feeling lost in the shuffle

Wow, I can’t believe it’s been over a week since my last post.  I even finished my Toe-Up socks last week and haven’t posted the project summary yet (more on that later).  I think this “house selling” thing is consuming too much of my time and mental energy.

We’re now at 86 days on the market, and no offers.  Mind you, we still go through about 10 flyers a week and every open house we’ve had has provided nothing but positive feedback on the house.  I’m sure the current mortgage woes are not helping the situation, but what we’re seeing more than anything is that nearly all of the buyers out looking are tied up with contingency sales of their own home first (makes sense that they are having a tough time selling as well).  The other problem we’re fighting is that, for the first time in the 9 years we’ve lived on our street, there are six houses for sale.  Yes, six on our street alone!  So, we sit back and watch as the clock ticks and the ones who made ill-advised decisions (like buying something else without contingency clauses on their first home sale) get desperate and start cutting their price to below market value.  At least we’re not in that category—we can move on our own time, so we’re just waiting this out.  There are still calls coming in to look at our home.  Besides, there are worse places to be stuck than San Diego, right?

So, knitting has filled the void between cleaning the house and staring at my silent cell phone.  As I mentioned before, I did finish my Toe-Up socks from the Colinette Jitterbug last week, but I still haven’t blocked them for photos.  I’ll probably get around to that today.  I’ve also started knitting the Tuscany shawl from No Sheep For You with the Sea Silk I posted about last week.  I LOVE THAT YARN!  It smells good, it feels good, and I cannot wait to have it wrapped around me.  More on that later as well.

OK, it’s time for that second cup of coffee before cleaning the bathrooms and vacuuming upstairs and downstairs.  No second story on the next house, I’m telling you!

Responses

  1. Hopefully you guys will get some bites soon! I know how it is to have your house on the market…..


Leave a Reply

Categories

