Posted by: Kim | August 7, 2007

V-Neck Shaped Cardigan project summary

Muff received her cardigan last night and it fits! Now I can share the details.

V-Neck Shaped Cardigan

Pattern: V-Neck Shaped Cardigan, #241

Source: Knitting Pure & Simple

Yarn: Berroco Ultra Alpaca (50% Super Fine Alpaca, 50% Peruvian Highland Wool) in Tiger’s Eye Mix (6292), five hanks

Size made: Small (36″ chest)

Needles used: Size 7 circular needles (24″ and 16″ lengths), size 5 circular needle (24″ length) and size 5 and 7 double-pointed needles

Project start date: July 15th
Project end date: August 1st

Project cost: Approximately $45 (not positive about this, as Muff bought the yarn)

Notes: This was my second top-down project with a Knitting Pure & Simple pattern, and I continue to love them. The construction is simple and they really let the yarn speak for itself. I did run into a couple of issues as I went through the pattern, though. I was left with an odd-numbered stitch count when I picked up the sleeve stitches, but I needed to decrease two stitches at a time to an even number of stitches. I ended up picking up an extra stitch in the underarm to get me on even numbers, and it worked fine. The other issue was that the smaller DP needles were called out in the beginning of the pattern, but never used anywhere. I’ve sent an e-mail to inquire on these two issues to see if I missed something, but I haven’t heard back yet.

On the fun side, I did do two things on this project that I’d never done before:

  1. I used the spit splice join for the first time.
  2. I actually changed the neckline finishing because I didn’t care for the pattern method.

I can’t believe I never tried the spit splice join before! It was a dream to use for this type of sweater with no seams, and it really worked! If you are using a feltable yarn for a project, I highly recommend using this method. Here’s the link to an online pictorial on how to do this join if you haven’t attempted it yet.

Now, for me to change a pattern on my own is an earth-shattering decision. I’ve always been the type of knitter/seamstress/stitcher that follows the pattern verbatim. It’s pure heresy to deviate from what the designer wrote down—don’t you understand the kind of chaos you release on the universe when you step off the path that is written for you?! Yes, that’s how bad I am. The neckline as written is basically three rows of garter stitch. (CO stitches for first tie, join and PU around neckline, CO stitches for the other tie. Knit back and forth for three rows, bind off.) After three attempts, I was never happy with the joins for the ties, nor did I like how the ties were going to come out flat. So, I finished off the neckline in a basic I-cord (gee, didn’t I just do that on my last project?). And you know what? I actually liked it better! I also had the epiphany after I was done to do the I-cord in seed stitch to complement the edges of the sweater, but luckily I was smart enough to knit a sample and realized that it would be too stiff for the ties before I ripped out the other completed neckline. So, I survived my rebel moment and perhaps gained enough confidence to stray from a pattern again in the future. (I truly do envy all of you that do this without any guilt or second thoughts.)

Responses

  1. I LOVE my sweater and it only seems fair that you get something fun out of the deal besides knowing that you’ve created the best sweater ever! 🙂

  2. That is fabulous. Isn’t top down great!!!!!! I have problems with underarms, but I’ll figure it out some how!!!

  3. Gorgeous!

  4. Beautiful!!!!!

  5. Wow! it looks great and the color is fantastic. doesn’t changing the pattern make you feel like a rockstar?????


Leave a Reply

Categories

