Posted by: Kim | July 8, 2007

Considering a new line of work (AKA “becoming a hooker”)

Needless to say, the title of this post may give you a clue on how my current knitting projects are progressing:

Tulip Baby Sweater: I was cranking on this project until I ran out of Blue Lagoon for the cuff of the second sleeve and the neck finishing. Megan at Lettuce Knit in Toronto was great and dropped some additional yarn in the mail as soon as I contacted her last week, but now I’m on hold until it shows up this week. Expect a project summary post on this one soon.

Lizard Ridge afghan: Ok, I’ve been really dragging my feet on this. I have one unworked ball of Noro Kureyon in the closet that I need to work up into a square, but I’ve really approached this project as a fill-in when I find a good price on yarn. So, not much action here.

Toe-up socks: I started my first pair of toe-up socks with my Colinette Jitterbug yarn, as I’d read that the hank tended to be short on yardage for a full pair of socks. I’m using the universal toe-up sock formula by Amy Swenson from Knitty Summer 2006 edition. Doing short row toes and heels wasn’t bad once I got the hang of it. Plus, I went with a plain stockinette stitch and a K2/P2 1″ ribbing at the cuff to maximize my yarn. Needless to say, I had plenty left on the first half of the hank to complete the first sock. Here’s the gotcha: how many times have you read patterns that say to BO loosely? Millions! And, I used size 3 needles to do the bind off (two sizes larger than the body). Imagine my surprise when I tried to get the sock on over my heel and it was too tight to slip over it! This is no joke, people—you need to bind off LOOSELY when finishing the cuff. I ended up ripping the cuff back out to correct the problem. Lesson learned.

So, the other day I found myself staring at a sweater I couldn’t finish, a sock that needed correcting, and an afghan that wasn’t capturing my interest. Instead of picking up needles and yarn from my stash to start yet another knitting project, I decided it was the day to give in to my urge to try to be a hooker. Yes, I picked up a crochet hook and scrap yarn and proceeded to learn the basics from a book (just like I did with knitting 20 years ago). You know, I may be a fast knitter, but crocheting was an ego check for me. I felt like I was trying to write a novel with my left hand. After much struggle, I completed a sample square of single, double and treble crochet. Ok, maybe I can do this after all.

Understand that I learned how to crochet long before I picked up knitting. My maternal grandmother was a crochet queen when I was growing up. My sister and I received many wonderful crocheted gifts like beer can hats and granny square vests to go along with our styling polyester pants and shirts that our fraternal grandmother had sewn for us. I asked my grandmother to show me how to crochet once as a kid, but it never stuck with me. Since I became a knitter I’d had no interest in crocheting, until very recently when I happened to develop the opinion that all of the cuter baby clothes patterns I was looking at all seemed to be crocheted. (Reality? Perception, because I really wanted to crochet? Who knows.)

After completing my practice square, I found a free pattern on the Bernat web site for a hat and booties rated as “easy,” then I headed off to Michael’s to buy two balls of Bernat Cottontot yarn. Of course, I also didn’t have the right size hook. I have at least five different sizes already so that I would be prepared to pick up a dropped knit stitch in any size at any time, but apparently the “I don’t have the right size needles when I need them” rule also applies to crochet projects. It turned out to be a quick project, and apparently I must have learned something, because I believe I caught at least two errors in the pattern. I’m happy with the results enough that they will make it out of the house as a gift and not be hidden shamefully in the closet.

Have I found happiness as a hooker? The jury is out on this one. I’ll attempt a second project before I make up my mind. Ultimately, I am happy to have expanded my skills. But I still think that knitting rocks more!

Baby’s Hat and Booties

Baby Hat and Booties

Pattern: Baby’s Hat and Booties to Crochet

Source: Bernat website

Yarn: Bernat Cottontots (100% cotton) in Wonder White (90005), one ball and Lemon Berry (90616), one ball

Size made: 6-12 months (only size available)

Hook used: 4.5mm (U.S. 7)

Project start date: July 3rd

Project end date: July 6th

Project cost: 2 balls at $3.49 each = $6.98

Notes: For the first crochet project, it wasn’t bad. The only issues I ran into with the pattern was on the 4th round of the top of the hat (stitch count was off on their pattern) and with the color change to the bottom of the booties (they referenced the wrong color).

Responses

  1. Very cute! I’m re-teaching myself to crochet too!!!

  2. There are SOOOO many comments that I would love to leave on this post!
    1. Good for you for tackling a new skill. It can only serve to add depth and dimension to your projects.
    2. uhh…no comment.
    3. uhh…no comment.
    4. I wonder how much your ‘hit traffic; from Google is going to go up with your blog title.

    Very nice work on the booties and hat!

  3. Hi Kim, Must be something in the cosmos *lol*
    I have my hooks out & a couple of ‘how to’ books…just waiting for the right moment!

  4. Cute project–I won’t touch the hooker thing…….

  5. seems like everyone has start-itis and i’m just sitting on a pile of UFOs. Damn! those booties look good for your first time hookin’!

  6. My wife is not a hooker!!!!!

  7. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.


Leave a Reply

Categories

