Posted by: Kim | June 19, 2007

Slacking on the posts, I am!

I was just looking at the date of my last post—three weeks ago!?  OK, so it’s been a bit busy here in our neck of the woods.  The house is still for sale (sigh, along with two others on our street).  I had a trip up to Oregon from June 4th to June 14th to move all of our belongings from the storage unit to my parent’s barn.  Kato had the worst of that one, since he turned that drive TWICE in a week, while I stayed up in Oregon with the pugs and helped in the garden (nice break from cleaning the house every day).  DH held down the fort at home for any showings that came up and enjoyed his time free of the “kids.”

On the knitting front, I continued to work on the Fitzroy cardigan on the drive.  I managed to finish the first sleeve up in Oregon, and I’m over halfway done with the second sleeve now.  I’ll post photos of the pieces once I’ve finished the blocking and I’m ready to start the finishing steps.  Because my knitting optimism always exceeds my capability, I brought my Colinette Jitterbug and Lorna’s Laces Sock yarn with me as well.  I did attempt the free pattern on the Jitterbug band, but after turning the heel, I believe I found an error and didn’t feel like putting any more brain power into the sock.  Thus, it was frogged for a different pattern.  Now that I’m researching this yarn, everyone warns that you should do “toe up” patterns, as the yardage in one hank may be too little for a full pair.  Noted.

BTW, the 2008 Men’s College World Series is back on this week and the Beavers are looking good.  They decided to find out what it would be like to travel through the winner’s bracket for a change.  Now we’re all watching the UCI-ASU game as I write this to see who we’re playing tomorrow.  GO BEAVS!

Responses

  1. yeah, jitter bug looks nice, but everybody’s been having trouble with it. i’m sort of afraid to buy any now.

  2. You know, I really liked how it looked knitted up (even in straight stockinette), but I would agree that you have to use this for socks with a shorter leg length. I think I’m going to give Ann Budd’s On-Your-Toes pattern from the Summer 2007 Interweave Knits issue a try with it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

