Posted by: Kim | May 11, 2007

Monkey Socks – FO!!

Monkey left view Monkey right view

Pattern: Monkey Socks, by Cookie A.

Source: Knitty.com, Winter 2006

Yarn: Cherry Tree Hill Supersock Merino in “Martha’s Vineyard” colorway (100% Merino Wool superwash), one hank (4 oz/420 yds)

Needles used: (2) Addi Turbo circulars, size 1 (2.5mm)

Project start date: April 22nd

Project end date: May 9th

Project cost: $22.00/hank

Notes: This yarn was the first hank of sock yarn I’d ever purchased. As I attempted a completely different pattern with it last fall, I realized that this wasn’t the best “sock beginner” yarn to use. The smooth finish on the yarn made it tough to maintain a consistent gauge while I struggled with the double-pointed needles, and I really was using the wrong pattern for this beautiful yarn. So, I frogged it and put it away. Once I had three other pairs under my belt, I felt ready to tackle this yarn and was educated enough on selecting a pattern that would do this colorway some justice.

I really enjoyed this project. While the pattern looks tough, I found it easy to memorize the 11-round repeat. Paraphrasing from Joey Tribbiani, I would call it “just the right amount of complicated.” (If you know the quote I lifted this from, congratulations—you must have been the other person watching “Joey” before it was canceled.) I highly recommend it!

Responses

  1. Beautiful! 🙂

  2. Great socks!!!
    I rally like the color of CTH!!!
    Remind me summer graep!!
    Bye the way… visit my knitting blog too!!!

    Thanks

    Charles

  3. you knitting superstar! those sox look gr8!

  4. Beautiful Monkeys – I celebrated my Monkey Socks by kicking back a couple glasses of Monkey Bay Wine – gotta love knitting and wine monkeys 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

