Posted by: Kim | April 9, 2007

Tomato sweater completed!

Happy belated Easter, all! It’s refreshing to start out a week with an FO to talk about so I’ll get straight to it.

Tomato sweater completed

Pattern: Tomato sweater, designed by Wendy Bernard

Source: No Sheep for You, by Amy R. Singer

Yarn: Blue Sky Alpacas Organic Cotton, in Sage (83), five skeins, and Bone (80), one skein.

Size made: 35 1/2″ bust

Needles used: Size 7 Clover bamboo circulars (29″) and size 6 Addi Turbo circulars (16″ and 24″)

Project start date: March 19th

Project end date: April 9th

Project cost: 6 skeins @ $10.25 ea = $61.50

Notes: First, I have to say that I’ve never knit a sweater this quickly before. I absolutely love the top down, in-the-round construction technique, especially since there’s no finishing seaming. (Those of you who have read my blog for awhile know how much I detest that!) The amazing part is during that 3-week span, I actually did not work on it for a week since I was in Phoenix. Very nice–a new sweater in two weeks!

The pattern was a breeze to understand and I really love the way that it’s designed with waist shaping to reduce the baggy look. The only real “challenge” I had was to map out my pick up stitches around the neck so that they were placed properly for the decreases before bind off. Even that wasn’t too hard.

The yarn is gorgeously soft and are 100% color grown. My only concern with using this yarn is that it really pills easily. The tag on the skein recommends either hand wash or dry clean, and I think I’ll take the second route to ensure that this garment stays looking good for years to come.

Responses

  1. ooooooooooooooooo! IT’S GORGEOUS! i love it! gr8 job kim!

  2. Nice work! I’ve been waiting to see how patterns from this book knit up. It looks excellent!

  3. I love the look and fit. Will have to try the yarn and book myself. Thanks for the picture.


Leave a Reply

Categories

