Posted by: Kim | April 4, 2007

DH’s Garter Rib Socks

DH socks finished

Pattern: Garter Rib sock

Source: Sensational Knitted Socks by Charlene Schurch

Yarn: Lana Grossa Meilenweit Mega Boots Stretch (70% Virgin Wool, 23% Polyamide, 7% Elite) in color 704, one skein (100g/400m)

Needles used: Two Addi Turbo circulars, size 2

Project start date: February 23rd
Project end date: April 4th

Project cost: $16.00 (US) for one skein

Notes: As you can tell from the photo, I didn’t get my striping started at the same spot for both socks. I thought I had it wound correctly for the second sock, but I was wrong—oops! I do like the way the colorway striped and the yarn made up some nice thicker socks that will go great in DH’s hiking boots. My one knock on the yarn is that it’s a 3-ply (one larger ply that is color-striped and two smaller plies that remained dark blue), and I was constantly splitting the smaller plies with the tip of my needles.

Responses

  1. they look good though!!! a friend of mine is working on these, i think i maybe getting the garter rib bug now….. hehe. the stripes look cool when they don’t match đŸ˜›

  2. Those socks look VERY warm. I could use those in Minneapolis today its a balmy 22 degrees tonight. BRRRR…. Will summer ever come.


Leave a Reply

Categories

