Posted by: Kim | February 18, 2007

T&L’07 Day 2 – Half Moon Bay and Wine Country

The car slowly makes its way through the curves hugging the cliff, showing extraordinary caution by maintaining a speed at least 10mph under the recommended speed on the sign.  I look back in the rear view mirror, counting the cars and motorcycles that have now joined the caravan since my last check.  It’s now extended around the corner and I cannot clearly count them all.  Ahead the car pulls through the corner into a straightaway and proceeds to brake.  Brake!  There’s no one in front of them! What are they doing?!  I feel my palms start to sweat and my knuckles turn white as I beg for a turnout.  It’s been like this for miles.  God, please—will it ever end?!

I snap out of my dream in a cold sweat.  I’m in a strange dark room and I hear frogs chirping.  Frogs?  Oh, yes.  I’m in the hotel in Half Moon Bay and the driver was yesterday’s drama.  Today is a fresh new day.

Golden Gate BridgeAnd what a day it was.  I cannot tell you of a time that I remember a clear 75-degree day in San Francisco in February.  It was perfect!  After leaving Half Moon Bay, we drove up Hwy 1 into the city, then crossed the Golden Gate Bridge.  The water sparkled with reflection of the sun, sail boats were out in force, and the view was breathtaking.  For Muff’s first time in San Francisco, you couldn’t have asked for a better day.

After taking our photographs from the north vista point, we jumped on the 101 and headed up to Santa Rosa.  The plan was to drive down Hwy 12 through to Sonoma, then take 121 over to 29 and drive back up through Napa.  We’d finish off by heading back in to Sonoma county through Alexander Valley on 128, then down the 101 back to Santa Rosa and the hotel—basically a big loop in a counter-clockwise fashion.  We chose to hold off on tasting until we got into Napa, as there were a couple of specific wineries we wanted to visit.

Silver Oak tastingThe first stop was Silver Oak Cellars.  Their Napa production and hospitality facility is currently under construction, so they’re set up for tasting in some temporary buildings on the site.  We enjoyed tasting both the 2002 Alexander Valley Cabernet and the 2002 Napa Valley Cabernet, and both of us left with a bottle each.  The shot of me with my wine goes out to Kristi at red dog knits.  I was thinking of her while basking in the sun sipping my Cab and looking out over the sleeping vines that were freshly pruned for winter.  That one was for you, Kristi!

On to the Oakville Grocery for a quick sandwich snack to hold us over until dinner and to help absorb the wine.  I love this store and stop every time I come through Napa.

Our second winery stop was Provenance Vineyards.  We tasted the 2005 Rutherford Sauvignon Blanc, the 2004 Napa Valley Merlot and the 2004 Rutherford Cabernet.  I ended up picking up a bottle of the Sauv Blanc and Cabernet to take home.

Once we cleared Calistoga, the drive was serene, with little tourist traffic.  It was a pretty quick jaunt back to the hotel, and after dinner, we enjoyed a bottle of 2003 Chateau Montelena Cabernet in our room over chick talk (thanks, Kato!).  And yes, I did knit a bit on the Simple Scarf.

On to Eureka!

Responses

  1. OHHHHHH!!!! YUMMY! Thanks for the shoutout and the vicarious wine guzzle – we are headed to the local winery shop to have a bottle as celebration that Scrapster is home minus surgery – thanks again!!! Beautiful! I remember taking the coastal highway from Oregon down to San Jose – it was a beautiful trip!


Leave a Reply

Categories

