Posted by: Kim | January 10, 2007

Harlow Coat summary

In a nod to Kenny (I like how he summarizes his projects on his blog), here’s my project summary for the Harlow Coat.

Harlow coat - flatHarlow 2

Pattern: Harlow Coat

Book: Rock Gods & Movie Stars from Colinette

Size Made: Medium

Needle sizes used: Straights – Size 17 (body) and 11 (trim)

Yarn: Colinette Point 5 (100% wool) in Raphael (70), Colinette Tagliatelli (90% merino wool, 10% nylon) in Raphael (70).

Amount purchased: Point 5 – 14 hanks, Tagliatelli – 3 hanks

Amount used: Point 5 – 14 hanks, Tagliatelli – 2 1/3 hanks

Cost: Point 5 – 7 hanks at $16.50 each and 7 hanks at $23.10 each = $277.20, Tagliatelli – 2 1/3 hanks at $28.35 each = $66.15. Total cost = $343.35.

Project notes:

  • First off, I have to admit to being ill when I finally added up the cost of this project. I had purchased the yarn in separate batches about a year ago when I knew I was going to be unemployed (and broke). Thank goodness I planned ahead! While I enjoyed using this yarn and bought it because I absolutely fell in love with the colorway, any other chunky weight yarn that will give you a gauge of 7.5 stitches and 9 rows over 4 inches on size 17 needles would be suitable.
  • The booklet advised that you should use straight needles instead of circular in order to ensure consistent gauge. So much for the circular Addi I had already bought! 🙂
  • As advised with hand-dyed yarn, I alternated every two rows between hanks in order to ensure that the color was blended well. It was a good thing to do, as I did notice a color difference between the first 7 hanks I had purchased from the remaining 7 hanks that I had ordered.
  • I chose to backstitch the shoulder seams due to the dropped sleeve design and the weight of the yarn. This has given it stability and reduced stretching. I used the mattress stitch for attaching the sleeves and finishing the underarm and side seams.
  • I highly recommend making the optional faux “fur” trim with the Tagliatelli tape yarn. It certainly makes a huge difference in the look of the coat.
  • That having been said, the trim was the biggest pain in the rear. First, I screwed up with keeping the right stitch count, thus thinking I was short yarn from what the pattern called out (2 hanks for the small/medium sizes). I frogged the entire thing and when I redid the trim, I was still short. It was good I bought the third hank. So, if you’re going to do the trim, I recommend buying three hanks, regardless of the size.
  • The trim was hand sewn on with standard thread (I HATE hand sewing, but it was worth the time).
Responses

  1. WoW!!!! IT’s finally finished! I’ve been waiting to see the finished product 🙂

  2. Ooooh, I’m so honored! I’ve been mentioned on someone else’s blog! I’m on the road to being famous!

    The only reason why I do what I do on my projects is because:
    1) I’m anal
    2) I’m anal
    3) I’m anal
    4) I like keeping records electronically because I don’t like writing.

    And it turns out to be a good thing because I can go back and refer to all my knitting notes in one place, unless Blogger crashes…. (which sometimes I’m afraid it will!)

    So, I really like reading how you did your project notes. You can’t imagine how many times I’ve read blogs and tried to figure out things that they didn’t talk about, like yarn source, yarn cost, gauge, etc….

    So a couple of comments:

    Phew, that was an expensive coat! Really puts things in perspective doesn’t it when you add it up!

    I really like your tip about alternating rows with different dye lots. Didn’t think about it. But do you just carry up the yarn? wouldn’t it be too many ends to weave in? How did you do it? Have 2 balls always dangling from your project?

    Other than that, it looks awesome! But I’ve already seen it. You sent me an e-mail with a picture a while back. It’s really pretty!

  3. Wow! Your Harlow Coat turned out sooooo awesosme. My first reaction when I saw the picture was “when can you make me one”, but then I took a moment to read your summary and gasped when i saw the total cost. OUCH! That’s like shopping on rodeo drive money. I guess I will have to stick to my Target’ sweaters. Oh well. In hind sight, looking at the design your current pattern would be less than flattering to my already enlarging hinny. LOL!

    Love,
    Sisma

  4. Kenny — I think you’re much more well known than you give yourself credit for! Thanks for the comment and I’m glad you asked about how I dealt with carrying the yarn. I did carry it up the side, thus I had two balls going at the same time. It was a bit of a pain and I wasn’t completely pleased with how the edge looked for finishing, but after seeing some of the color differences, it was necessary.

    Sis — don’t worry, this hangs over your ‘hinny’ so that shouldn’t be a problem. It’s helping me with mine! 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

