Posted by: Kim | November 13, 2006

The true meaning of “slacker”

Contrary to popular belief, I do have other hobbies that I enjoying engaging in from time to time.  One of them is stained glass.  I took a beginner’s class about ten years ago, and I dabble with it from time to time.  It’s a great hobby to have if you have the space.  When we bought our house eight years ago, we set up this very large bench inside the garage so I would have room to work on a project and still leave my grinder, band saw and other various tools out.  Needless to say, it’s a LARGE bench.  Also, as many of you may understand, if you put a flat surface in your garage it eventually turns into another storage space.  It’s just much easier to “set it down on the bench–I’ll put it away later” than take the time to put it away now.  And this is coming from a self-professed neat freak!

The reason I digress is because I spent part of last week uncovering that bench–again.  Yes, this chore has happened multiple times.  I figure that it had been at least two years since the last attempt.  Imagine my delight (and horror) when I uncovered this:

Beaver window

This is a window that I designed of the Oregon State University Beaver logo.  I “gave” the window to my best friend as a birthday gift.  We were roommates at OSU back in the 80’s and she’s probably even more of a die-hard fan than I am.  No, really–you have to understand how die-hard she is.  I use the OSU fight song as her ringtone.  We talk about trips to the campus bookstore like visits to Mecca.  She even has her living room painted orange!  (No surprise that this is where the window will eventually hang if when it’s completed.)  I think you get the picture.

As I cleared away the mess, I discovered all of the cut/non-ground & foiled pieces laying loose.  I did an inventory and was relieved to find that they were all present and accounted for.  That’s not usual; I was lucky.  During the inventory, I began to consider how long I had been working on this project.  When did I “give” this gift?  Hell, I couldn’t even recall when I last worked on it!  Luckily, cleaning the bench answered my question.  As I sorted through all of my scrap glass in a nearby box, I came across some receipts.  Yes–receipts for the glass for this project!  I almost died when I saw the date…September 18, 2001!  Waves of guilt and shame washed over me–how can she still be my best friend?  I mean, I’ve slacked on projects before that found their way to the back (and bottom) of my closet, but those were all unannounced personal failures to launch.  This was inexcusable!  As I went through photos on my computer, the last photo update I had sent her was from 2003!  I know there are others of you out there who must understand, but I was (and remain) appalled.

So, today I am going to the local glass supply store to replace some EXTREMELY old chemicals in my supply stash and I’m going to finish this bad boy this year if it kills me!  I now have no excuse–there is no job to get in the way.  Besides, the recipient has promised to fly to San Diego and drive up to Seattle with me when it’s complete.  Yes, there is NO WAY I will ship this after taking over 5 years to complete it.  Besides, I think she deserves a good “Thelma and Louise” trip for all of the waiting…

Leave a Reply

Categories

