Posted by: Kim | July 30, 2006

Photos of the shrug

As promised, here are pictures of the completed Twisted Float Shrug, with both “sweater” and “shrug” orientations:

Sweater Orientation

Shrug orientation

Following are some project notes:

  • I used Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Worsted in Gold Hill and Chocolate for the body/sleeves and Lorna’s Laces Grace in Chocolate for the trim. 
  • I made the XL size, as I wanted it larger than shown in Vogue Knitting.  I did stop the increases on the body at 63 stitches between markers instead of 67 stitches, as I didn’t want it too much longer.
  • Ironic story of the project—I tried on the shrug during the first sleeve so I could determine the length I wanted.  I decided on a total of 8 pattern repeats.  Then, I actually ran out of Gold Hill with 1/2 of the second sleeve to go.  I found another hank in another dye lot and completed the sleeve.  Then I tried it on—the sleeves were too long!  Apparently the way that the shrug hung on me during the first sleeve did not give an accurate assessment of the length.  I should have pulled out a tape measure!  Frankly, I’m too lazy to pull out sleeve ends to shorten them, so I folded them back (although not shown in photos).  Actually, it didn’t look too bad, as it mirrored the collar style.

All in all, I’m pretty happy with the shrug.  The only bummer is that it’s still warm in San Diego and I won’t be wearing it out for some time.  Oh well, it gives me something to look forward to in the fall!

Responses

  1. I love your shrug…It looks great. Now that I see your shrug, I definitely need to complete mine for the Fall (it’s not that fair away).

  2. Hi Kim

    Your Shrug is beautiful!

    Wonder if you can help…am just about to start knitting the shrug but am struggling with what they mean by “Twisting the yarn between each stitch so that the new colour is brought over the dropped colour”……any ideas/help would be greatly appreciated!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

