Posted by: Kim | June 1, 2006

Shrug update

This morning it was time for a gauge check. On a 40" circular, I would have sworn it was larger, but I'm at 28" across (XL size). I'm into the last pattern repeat before the lapel section. Here's a photo:

IMG_0944.JPG

The heavier brown lines are the scrap yarn for the armholes. Rounds are now taking anywhere from 20-35 minutes, depending on whether I'm twisting or not. I've also switched to the 47" needle, so that should allow more space for the stitches. The only bad part is when I sit down to knit in the evening, I have to evaluate if I have enough time to make it around once!

Responses

  1. Hi Kim. Thank you for stopping by my blog and commenting. How did you find me?

    Anyways, i’m so excited when I saw this picture. I’m also knitting the round shrug. I just don’t have much photos yet. I’m using a 60″ circular needle. I’m knitting the trim right now. As soon as I’m done with that I will have pictures.

    Oh, and by the way, did you know that there is a Cocoon shrug along? Check it out on my site, it’s on the side bar. Join it!

  2. Hi Kim! I love your blog on this shrug. You did a fabulous job. I am starting this project and reallllyyyy frustrated on the twisting. How did you keep the yarn from felting and knotting? I’m determined to figure this out. If you have any advice I would appreciate it. THANKS! Annalee


Leave a Reply

Categories

