Posted by: Kim | May 21, 2006

My first blog!

I never thought I'd end up starting my own blog, but after spending my time surfing Google to get help with knitting projects, I've decided to jump in with both feet myself. Also, since my impending voluntary unemployment is coming in six weeks, I'll have more time to post.

That's right–voluntary unemployment. I've been working at a computer manufacturing company for the last 15 years. I finally reached a point that I decided it was time to try something new (work was getting in the way of my passions!). So, maybe the right thing to do, maybe the wrong thing to do, or maybe just a midlife crisis, but I turned in my notice in March to quit my director-level job. I believe turning 40 definitely causes you to take stock in your life, and putting your job in front of the really important stuff in life got really old. I'm just happy my husband is so supportive! My last day is July 3rd and I'm counting down already! I know my first goal is to wake up without an alarm clock on a weekday!

Why the title on my blog? If you ask anyone who knows me, I tend to be a bit obsessive-compulsive about things in my life. When I take up new interests, I'm into them 150% and then I burn out. These three are the ones that have hung on. I have a '98 Porsche Boxster I bought three years ago–much to the amusement of our neighbors, I can be a bit of a freak when it comes to cleaning it. I really enjoy a great bottle of wine, and I would love it if my next career path were in this area somehow. And then there is knitting–a skill I learned 22 years ago when I was in college and it wasn't cool to do. I'd dropped it over the years, but I credit my best friend for getting me back into it about two years ago before we took a trip to Italy. Ever since then, I've found that it provided me with the stress relief I needed from corporate America and travel demands (it sure makes international flights go faster).

So, on to my current knitting project…

Responses

  1. Hey!
    Good luck to you. I can tell you one thing… Having a blog is almost as therapeutic as knitting – I do both!

    Lisl
    (South Africa)–>


Leave a Reply

Categories

